Skip to Content

Important Etias Visa Waiver Requirement for Travellers to Europe in 2025

Important Etias Visa Waiver Requirement for Travellers to Europe in 2025

Have you heard about ETIAS but are unsure what it is, whether you need it or how to get it? This post will answer all your questions about ETIAS.

The buzzword for travel to Europe in 2025 will be ETIAS – European Travel Information and Authorisation System. But what exactly is an ETIAS visa waiver, and who will need it?

The Visa Waiver was created to monitor travel and increase security through the Schengen area countries in Europe. ETIAS is not a visa but an electronic travel authorisation for visa-exempt non-EU citizens.

From mid-2025, the ETIAS visa waiver document will be a mandatory entry requirement for people entering the EU from 59 normally visa-exempt countries, including the UK.

Without the visa waiver, travellers from these countries will not be permitted entry into the Schengen Area, which includes 29 European countries like France, Italy, Spain, and Greece.

Travellers from countries already part of the Schengen area will not need an Etias visa waiver to travel around their neighbouring European countries.

Read on to learn about the ETIAS Visa Waiver and what it will mean to you.

Jet2 Plane in flight

This travel guide may contain affiliate links – For more information, please read my disclaimer and privacy policy.

Here’s the information on ETIAS and what travel will look like from 2025.

The Etias Visa Waiver will become effective in 2025. Travellers not in the EU must register online and pay a small fee in return for a visa waiver document, which will grant them permission to enter Europe. The document will last for three years, after which it must be renewed.

The fee for ages 18-70 will cost 7EUR. Children under 18 and adults over 70 will not have to pay this fee but will still have to apply for the visa waiver.

Travelling to popular European holiday destinations, such as France, Spain, and Italy, which are usually visa-exempt countries, will require proof of an Etias visa waiver on arrival.

Pastel coloured buildings beside the sea in Menton South of France

The visa waiver will be valid for three consecutive years or until your passport expires if this is sooner. It will need to be renewed after this time but will cover multiple trips to Europe during these three years.

How to Get a Visa Waiver

Online registration should be straightforward. Once the visa waiver has been issued, travel to a single country or through multiple Schengen countries during one trip will be allowed.

For example, a city break to one European country or a road trip through several European countries.

View from the cogwheel train of the meadows

Travellers to Europe should remember that each stay must not exceed 90 days in every 180 days.

Countries such as Russia, China and India will not be eligible for ETIAS and must apply for Schengen Visas.

European Countries that will require proof of ETIAS for entry (source

Map of Schengen Countries.

Please PIN for Future Travel

Are you looking for further advice for travelling to Europe? Please check out the following posts: